Landscape 17, Abstract 1


I’ve been trying out a 30 day trial of Corel Painter 12. Some of the newer brushes look very good, but I haven’t updated Painter since version 8 and if I want 12 I’ll have to buy it again new at this point. Maybe in the future…

Normally I like the 400×600 size, but I thought I’d start using 377×610 because of the Fibonacci number sequence 0, 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13, 21, 34, 55, 89, 144, 233, 377, 610, etc. Each number is gotten by adding the previous two numbers together, indefinitely. When used as the pixel dimensions for squares (like 5×5, 8×8, etc.) arranged in a spiral pattern it makes a shape with very similar side ratios as the golden rectangle. Any pair of adjacent numbers will make such a shape, becoming closer to the actual golden ratio the higher the number pair is.

Posted in art

Leave a Reply

