Fox Forest

Fox's Woods

Mixed media on board, 5″x7″.

I didn’t have anything in mind when I started this. I was really just experimenting some more with gouache and acrylic on these boards that I have and it started to look like a forest, so I continued on that path and drew in a fox at the end. I actually started off covering the board in various colors of watercolor, trying out different techniques, and then completely wiping the board clean with a wet tissue before starting this black and white painting. A smaller brush would have helped with the small details on the fox. I guess I have an excuse to order some more supplies? Probably not.

7 thoughts on “Fox Forest

  1. I love this! I used to paint more intuitively and things would just appear in the painting. I miss that. I thought it might have been from working very large back then, but I guess the trick is just to start without big plans and see what appears, big or small.

  2. As a photographer, I’m just plain jealous of your talent! But I’m glad you stopped by my blog so I could find your site. This is my favorite by far. I wouldn’t add anymore detail to the fox. It adds to the ethereal feeling.

Leave a Reply

