Cloud Canyon

Misty Mesas

Mixed media on watercolor board, 5″x7″

I didn’t have anything in mind when I started painting, except that I knew I wanted to use my yellow oxide acrylic paint. I mixed that with white gouache and acrylic, and at the end I drew lines with colored pens. The way paint and ink looks together is kind of nice.

I’m almost out of the small gessoed boards that I’ve been using lately, but I found these watercolor boards that I had gotten in the past. It’s been at least a year and a half since I’ve used this kind of board, and I only tried them briefly, so they took a little getting used to. Because they’re very absorbant, unlike the gessoed boards that water just sits on top of, any water that I put on this disappeared in seconds. Of course it’s meant to be used with watercolors, but thinned acrylic can be similar to watercolor in ways.

7 thoughts on “Cloud Canyon

    1. I have once or twice, many years ago, but after college I worked as a graphic designer rather than a fine artist. Actually I was thinking about setting up a way to sell prints online. Maybe sometime soon when I work out how to go about it and so on. 🙂

  1. I liked the cloud canyon- something of Japanese for its simplicity and clean lines. I notice Ziggyshortcrust has already mentioned it. Before I turn in having seen this it serves me for a nightcap. Thanks

Leave a Reply

