Copying Monet 1

Copying Monet 1

Self-made watercolor on Strathmore 140lb cold press paper, 5.5″ x 8.5″

Here’s a rough copy of a series of paintings from Monet, which can be seen over here.

The paint I made from Rublev pigments. I mixed ultramarine blue (greenish shade) with pozzuoli red. I’m not sure how to pronounce pozzuoli, but it’s one of my favorite reds.

As for the painting, I was thinking I’d try a series of copies of various famous past art, starting with this watercolor version of Monet’s oil paintings. I’m not interested in making exact copies, by the way. Artists like Monet painted things as they saw them, and so will I. Of course, now that I’m looking at it again, I completely bungled the reflections. Shhh, maybe nobody will notice.

Leave a Reply

