Yunshan 5

Yunshan 5

Oil on canvas, 5″x7″

I had some leftover yellow paints from a mixing test so I painted these mountains. The center mountain is nickel azo yellow (PY150). It’s a transparent paint so I painted from top to bottom each layer thicker than the last. Towards the bottom I was painting over dried layers with more paint so it’d be even darker. The lines between each layer are just little ridges of paint. At the end I added the clouds which are a mix of cerulean and cobalt turquoise. I didn’t end up using any white paint on this one, just two blues and a few yellows.

Leave a Reply

