Mountain and Waterfall

Mountain And Waterfall

Acrylic on canvas, 5″x7″

This is a copy of a small portion of a famous Chinese landscape painting called Travelers amid Mountains and Streams. I didn’t want the uniform texture of canvas to show through the paint, so I first covered the entire canvas in fiber paste from Golden. Then I coated it in a layer of black paint and once it was dry I used a dry brush technique to apply white paint that clung to the ridges of texture. I liked how it looks like rocks with snow on them.

It’s been a really long time since I used acrylic paint, but since I have a lot of old tubes I can freely use them without worrying about wasting paint. If I don’t use them then they’re wasted anyways.

Leave a Reply

