Fox Parade

Fox Parade

Watercolor on Fabriano Artistico soft press 300lb paper, 7″ x 5″

I worked from left to right and at first I was just painting trees but once I decided to include a fox I started drawing everything in pencil before painting.

Fox Parade Sketches

It’s been years since I’ve drawn with pencil directly on a watercolor painting before using paint. I really don’t have much practice drawing animals and I didn’t want to risk mistakes so I sketched all of them in my sketchbook before drawing them on the painting.

Fox Parade Closeup

What started as one fox in the center then turned into an entire parade. The paint I used was Italian Dark Ochre (PY43) that I made myself with pigment from Natural Pigments. I think the scan makes the color look redder than it is.

In other news I’m finally back from a month long vacation, after another 31 hour train ride across half the US. I didn’t get nearly as many things painted as I had wanted for various reasons but this is one of the few things that I did paint. Since I was traveling I used a Da Vinci cosmotop spin #5 travel brush for the whole painting.

4 thoughts on “Fox Parade

Leave a Reply

