Tempest

Tempest

Oil on canvas, 10″ x 8″

Based on Cliffs at Pourville, Rain by Monet. I wasn’t looking at his painting while I painted, or especially trying for an exact copy, so mine turned out a little different.

I don’t normally paint this thickly, but I’ve been watching some video clips of an artist named David Leffel and I’m hoping to learn some things from him so I can improve my work. I kind of like thick paint.

I had a cobalt, prussian, and cerulean blues already on my palette when I started so I was using mixtures of those with white and a little Portland Grey Light from Gamblin. Around 2/3 of the way through I decided to try a mixture of french ultramarine with my new cobalt teal (PB28) from Gamblin. I really like how that mix turned out. The reddishness, darkness, transparency, and intensity of the ultramarine was balanced by the greenishness, lightness, opacity, and relative dullness of the teal, resulting in a mellow middle blue in all regards.

4 thoughts on “Tempest

    1. Thanks, and I also like blue too. Actually there’s a lot more red pigments than blue ones, but somehow my paint bins seem to be overstuffed with blues, especially in watercolor. How does this happen? 🙂

  1. I once experienced a sea like this one and it should have been frightening but after weeks of sailing the sea had become part of who I was so instead it felt like a logical thing for the sea to do at that moment. Love your work.

Leave a Reply

