The Highlands

The Highlands

Oil on canvas, 8″ x 10″

A couple of days ago I found out about an artist named Arkhip Kuindzhi. He grew up poor in Ukraine in the mid 1800s, was orphaned when he was 6, worked for a living from then on, and eventually moved to Russia and learned art. I’m going to put my painting to shame by showing you guys this, but I saw this painting he made called Snow Tops and I wanted to paint something like that today. Again I wasn’t actually looking at that painting while I worked except a few glances during breaks, and it’s not meant to be an exact copy anyways. He has so many good paintings, I want to make copies or paintings similar to at least 20-28 of them.

This particular canvas is one that I had previously coated in multiple layers of Golden fiber paste mixed with white acrylic paint until the canvas texture was gone and in its place was a sort of stony texture that I like. The paints I used were cobalt blue (PB28, Winsor & Newton), azo green (PY129, M Graham), prussian blue (PB27, M Graham), king’s blue (PB28+PW6, Rembrandt), flake white hue (PW6+PW4, Winsor & Newton), and a little bit of zinc buff yellowish (PW4, Williamsburg). This was my first finished painting using that azo green (known in other brands by names like “green gold”) and I think it may become one of my favorites alongside viridian. It doesn’t show up very well in the photo but I used very thick paint that gets thicker towards the foreground.

I used to live in a place called Highlands Ranch. It sounds romantic, but by the time I moved there nothing was left of the former ranch. Instead there was only suburban sprawl with mountains very far in the distance.

4 thoughts on “The Highlands

    1. Thanks, the texture was a lot of fun to experiment with. The sky was painted thinly and the texture of the fiber paste is showing through, but the highlights on the grass and the grass in the foreground at the bottom are very thickly painted. 🙂

    1. Thanks 🙂
      I’ve tried exact copies in the past, but I feel less connected with them and the small inaccuracies are only frustrating. Some artists say that every painting is a self portrait. Since I’m not Arkhip Kuindzhi, I can’t paint his self portrait, but I can paint my own.

Leave a Reply

