Memory of Summer

Memory of Summer

Oil on linen, 7″ x 5″

I was experimenting with some paints and decided to make something using what I had on my palette, which were mostly earth colors. I started by painting it all with burnt sienna dark, and then when it was dry I painted the scene on top.

Paints used in this mostly include-
burnt sienna dark (PBr7, self made, pigment from Natural Pigments)
orange ochre (PY43, self made, pigment from Natural Pigments)
yellow ochre light (PBr24, Rembrandt)
cobalt yellow (PY40, Daniel Smith)
titanium white (PW6, Williamsburg)
and a few random dabs of various natural siennas and red ochres

I really like the burnt sienna dark and orange ochres from Natural Pigments. Those are both high up on my list of earth colors that I like and they go together well.

3 thoughts on “Memory of Summer

Leave a Reply

