A Perilous Climb (revised)

A Perilous Climb 2a

Oil on canvas, 5″ x 7″

I had wanted to call this done before, but maybe it was a little too rough. In this revision I’ve added German black (natural PBk11, Williamsburg) to the sky and more of the previous Davy’s gray and my own white that I was working with in the first version.

Here’s a comparison of the white I made against a titanium white from Blockx-

Custom White 1 Comparison

You can see that the white from Blockx in the bottom row, which is Titanium white pigment in poppy oil, has a distinctly cooler/bluer color when mixed with German earth black. It’s also a shorter paint consistency, more opaque, and higher tinting.

My own white that I mulled is a mix of these pigments- titanium white (Blue Ridge), zinc white (Gamblin), and marble dust (Daniel Smith).
The oils used are walnut (M Graham) and refined linseed (Gamblin).

I didn’t measure the amounts used, but if I had to guess it’s around 60-70% titanium white and of the rest it’s probably more than half marble dust. You can see there’s a little bit of oil separation, but not much.

I actually like my own white paint for a couple of reasons. First, pure titanium white is normally very opaque and has very high tinting strength, far more than it really needs to be for artists. The addition of zinc white and especially marble dust has weakened the paint enough that it’s a little easier to control it in mixes. Second, titanium white has a reputation of having a “cooling effect” on other colors. I tested that out by comparing titanium white with zinc white in this post and found that the difference between their effects on color temperature to be situational, with some colors more affected by others, and at times nonexistent. Still, in this case my own white was clearly warmer and so its tints with the black were closer to neutral.

Leave a Reply

