30 paintings for June

As I mentioned last post, I did a 30 oil paintings in 30 days challenge for June over in this forum thread (I’m yellow_oxide). For me it was an extra challenge because I had travel plans for this month and also my church follows the Sabbath on saturdays in which we rest from work, so in all I only actually had 18 days to do all 30 paintings. Some of the paintings may be a little rushed because most days that I painted I was doing 2 paintings, and couple of times I got behind and needed to do 3.

Most of these I painted on half of an 8″x10″ canvas board, with one painting on the top half and one on the bottom half. A few of them are on matte board scraps that I covered with gesso or on a 7″x5″ canvas board. Most are original but a few are based on paintings from either Van Gogh or Monet.

Overall I think this challenge was a lot of fun and helpful. Ideally I wouldn’t be so rushed, but because I didn’t feel like each painting had to be a masterpiece I was also more able to experiment with, ideas, paints, and mediums that I don’t normally use. If I do this again it won’t be a month with travel plans though.

8 thoughts on “30 paintings for June

    1. Thanks 🙂
      By the way, since I did most of these as an 8″x10″ canvas divided into top and bottom halves, the thing with the river valley painting is that it’s on the top half and the painting after it of a wolf pack (even if they don’t look super wolflike, but whatever) is on the bottom half. So it’s like that scene is a close up of the river bank.

    1. I think that would be a good practice, with occasional breaks to rest. Even if not a canvas, a sketchbook and pencil or pen is very important. 🙂
      I tend to get burnt out after being very productive though and then I go through a lull…

Leave a Reply

