Warm Evening Light

Warm Evening Light

Watercolor on paper, 8″ x 4.75″

I painted this on the back of some paper that I think is from Moulin du Roy. I used the back because it had an interesting texture, different from the front, that left little flecks of white in the black paint and looked like light glistening. Unfortunately that texture just looks more like graininess when I shrink the image to fit here. A closer look-

Warm Evening Light Detail

I used mostly carbon black (self made, pigment from Pebeo) and Venetian red (Rublev), plus some German vine black (also Rublev).

While I was going through my usual struggle to think of a good title, before eventually settling on a plain description as always, I came across a quote about it in the Bible, in which Jesus said “When it is evening, ye say, It will be fair weather: for the sky is red. And in the morning, It will be foul weather to day: for the sky is red and lowring. O ye hypocrites, ye can discern the face of the sky; but can ye not discern the signs of the times?” (Mat 16:2-3) At certain latitudes a red sky in the evening means the next day will probably have good weather, because of the direction that wind blows, but a red sky in the morning means a storm is probably coming.

Over here is a photo that I was thinking of when I was painting the colors.

2 thoughts on “Warm Evening Light

  1. In Norway we have a similar – saying about red sky in the evening and in the morning. It rhymes too:) I like that sky – it feels and looks like a smile

Leave a Reply

