Red and Yellow Sunset

Red and Yellow Sunset

Watercolor on paper, 5″ x 7″

Originally I was working on a copy of a painting by another artist, who was born in 1880 but I couldn’t find a date of death. I wasn’t sure if the painting was still covered by copyright so I remade the composition while keeping the theme the same.

I made this using only watercolors that I had made myself- pozzuoli red (a natural red ochre), lemon ochre, and a 1:1 premix of ultramarine light and raw umber. Those pigments are all from Natural Pigments. I also used some smoked (carbon) black with pigment from Pebeo.

Leave a Reply

