A Deluge, after Leonardo da Vinci

A Deluge

Black watercolor on sumi-e paper, 6.25″ x 4.75″

This took a little bit longer than I expected. It’s copied from a drawing by Leonardo, though because of the age of the paper and maybe the roughness of the chalk he drew with it was hard for me to tell exactly what all the lines were meant to be, so I just made a few interpretations of my own.

I painted this because the past few days there was a lot of rain, but much less than was predicted. The prediction of what even the next few hours would be like was always being changed. I had expected to wake up yesterday to more rain, but instead there were only a few drops the whole day.

It reminded me of when Nicodemus came to speak with Jesus in the Bible, and was told by Jesus “The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.” (John 3:8) Jesus was explaining the mystery of conversion to him, which is by the Spirit of God, by comparing it with wind. The effects of wind can be seen and felt, so we know that it is there, but even today with all of our technology we still can’t really say where the wind is going.

7 thoughts on “A Deluge, after Leonardo da Vinci

    1. Thanks, the reference for this is actually just one of many heavy rain drawings Leonardo made.
      I normally use the KJV Bible but this time the NIV seemed a better choice for modern spelling, since I thought maybe non-native English speakers might have a harder time with older spelling and words like “whence” instead of something like “where from.” 🙂

    1. It’s been a long time since I’ve payed much attention to artists like Leonardo, but now that I look back again I’m really impressed. I want to copy one of his portrait drawings. 🙂

Leave a Reply

