Earth and Graphite Sketches 2

EG Sketch 8

Again I used pozzuoli red and graphite watercolors. In the 6th and 7th I also used a little mars yellow, and in the 8th and 9th I added zinc white into the graphite in a few places to get a bluish grey. The 6th, 7th, and 8th are copies of paintings by Thomas Girtin, Charles-François Daubigny, and David Cox.

I was thinking I’d post sketches like this on a regular schedule, using various earth and graphite watercolors. You hardly ever see graphite watercolor being used, and I think only one or two brands even make it, but I’m really starting to like how it looks and works.

6 thoughts on “Earth and Graphite Sketches 2

  1. I am really liking these sketches that you’re turning out, the combination of the graphite and earth color is beautiful. Nice lines, too. Are you using ochre that you found or purchased? I’ve been super into graphite in the pencil form for the past couple of months, but your use of the water soluble version has my interest piqued 🙂

    Have you checked out Canson’s Mix Media Sketchbooks? Once I found them I never looked back.

    1. So far the red ochre I’ve used for these sketches is one I made using pozzuoli red pigment that I bought from Rublev (Natural Pigments). It’s not quite their warmest/orangest red ochre, but it’s not far from it. Once I use up what I have in the dish I’ll switch to another reddish earth of some sort for variety.

      Besides the graphite watercolor from Daniel Smith that I’m using, there’s a “liquid pencil” from Derivan that I think is basically also a watercolor with powdered graphite as the pigment. I don’t think there’s any others on the market, if that indicates its lack of popularity. I might switch to a water soluble graphite pencil at some point in these sketches. My understanding is that these pencils aren’t very popular either, but as I’ve discovered with it in paint form the lack of popularity doesn’t mean it doesn’t have potential.

      I looked up that mixed media sketchbook and it looks good. Right now I’m just using a Canson Sketch 3″x5″ of 50lb regular sketch paper. I do have a larger Canson “Universal” sketchbook that I’ll probably switch to once I use up this book, but that’s still not as heavy weight paper is the mixed media one. 🙂

  2. Sketch 7 with the person looking down i n the water – I am stricken with awe at the clarity and spirit of that water – amazing

    1. The original for that one is here- link 🙂
      It’s actually just a tree there, although because of the low detail I suppose it can be interpreted as a person too. Just like with the water, which is really only a few basic shapes and colors, our brains interpret and fill in a lot of what we don’t see, so that our perception of what we think we see may just be what we expected to see. When I think about this or the famous painting “the treachery of images” (link) I’m reminded of a verse in the Bible, 1 John 4:1, “Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world.”

  3. Magritte is my favorite artist!

    I ordered some of the Caran d’Ache water soluble pencils which seemed to be the best of the selection available. You’re right, they’re not so popular, leaving few choices, so I am curious to see how they work out. I suspect I’ll like them alot.

Leave a Reply

