Forest Sketches 2 and 3

Forest Sketch 3

Pencils: Grumbacher Pentalic woodless pencil HB, Koh-i-Noor Progresso woodless black colored pencil
Paper: Canson sketch universal, 5.5″ x 8.5″ 65lb

For this one I was thinking about how there’s several large oak trees near my house and every evening the birds like to socialize in the branches. As the sun sets the shadows go up the tree until they reach the top. I used an eraser for the highlights on the branches.

Forest Sketch 2b

Pencil: Grumbacher Pentalic woodless pencil HB
Paper: Paper: Canson sketch universal, 5.5″ x 8.5″ 65lb

I drew this because I thought I had lost the smaller sketchbook that had the first version of this scene with deer in the forest. There’s supposed to be water at the bottom of the page but it doesn’t really look like it. I probably should have made the water darker.

Forest Sketch 2a

Pencil: Zebra mechanical pencil .5mm
Paper: Canson sketch esquisse, 3″ x 5″ 50lb

7 thoughts on “Forest Sketches 2 and 3

    1. Thanks 🙂
      I was always frustrated with art class perspective drawings with lots of straight lines though, because I’d want it to be perfect but somewhere something would be slightly off and it’d cascade throughout the drawing…

    1. Thanks. I used to only ever make landscapes with no people, animals, buildings, or anything like that, but they were so empty. Sometimes it works, but I’ve been trying to populate things a little more. 🙂

  1. These sketches are lovely! You’ve really nailed capturing a scene with loose strokes and forms, it’s inspiring me to practice loosening up my own hand 🙂 The bottom of the second sketch totally looked like water to me immediately, I’m really fond of that sketch.

    1. Thanks 🙂
      On the second one the woodless pencil I was using had a very rounded tip, not at all like a normal pencil point, so maybe that helped loosen things from the way it was gliding over the paper.

Leave a Reply

