Bees on Flowers

I took some photos of bees in my garden using a very inexpensive lens extender tube on my camera to let me focus very close. It has to be focused manually though, and every slight movement closer or farther from the bee lost the focus, so most of the photos were out of focus.

Bee on Echinacea Flower 1 small

Bee on Echinacea Flower 2 small

Bee on Cantaloupe Flower 1 small

Bee on Flower 2 small

Native Bee on Cantaloupe Flower 1 small

This last one is a species of bee native to California. Honey bees aren’t native here, and I’ve read different sources saying we have over 1000 or maybe even over 1600 species of native bees. I don’t know which one this is, but I think it’s a solitary miner bee that digs little holes. They’re very tiny and move fast so it’s hard to even see them, and especially hard to get a close photo.

9 thoughts on “Bees on Flowers

  1. Interesting how the wings on the first one are so ragged. I wonder if it just occurs with age, and how much wing has to disappear before the bee can no longer fly…

    1. I assume it’s with age as they all climb over each other in the hive, but that’s probably the most ragged of all the bees I photographed. A couple of days ago I found a dead bee whose wings weren’t ragged at all, so I don’t know. It seemed to be flying well enough regardless. 🙂

  2. It makes me so happy to see photos of bees. I am just doing a “soul chair” project – and one of the chairs is now a bee-chair, with very special queens –

      1. hidden beliefs, being lifted into consciousness and cleared out with Gods help.
        I prefer natural remedies too 🙂

  3. I’ve spent many moments trying to capture bees on camera. I find it very difficult because they flit no sooner than you have your eye on them. These are beautiful and very clear.

Leave a Reply

