Abyssinian Wolf, after Louis Agassiz Fuertes

Abyssinian Wolf 1

Watercolor and gouache on paper, 10″ x 8″

This is a copy of a painting by Louis Agassiz Fuertes of the Ethiopian wolf, which at the time the original (seen here) was painted was called the Abyssinian wolf. Their main source of food is the big-headed mole-rat. I remember watching these on a documentary a long time ago and seeing the wolf listening for sounds underground, then suddenly slamming its face directly into the ground and pulling out a mole-rat. I guess their skull is made to be able to do such things. Sometimes the wolf just tries to sneak up on the mole-rat at the surface when it’s at the entrance to its burrow.

For this painting I mostly used an old, dried tube of student grade burnt umber, which I didn’t like at all. I didn’t want to waste the paint since I already have it, but it didn’t have the appealing qualities of good burnt umber, such as granulation, and stained too much. A little mixed black and mars yellow watercolors were also used, plus some white gouache, and the background is all naples yellow gouache.

The original is definitely better than my copy. In the original painting the wolf looks less disinterested. My proportions are a little off too. By the way, it’s actually okay if people commenting on my posts have critiques to make of my work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

