Field with Cattle

Field with Cattle 1

Watercolor on 140lb cold pressed paper, 8″ x 5.75″

This is another field near the county park. It usually has dark colored cattle in it, either eating grass or laying in the shade. I think I need to practice animals more, or maybe just stop making everything so small. At this scale it just takes a very small mistake to completely change the shape of something. Maybe my next painting will be much bigger…

The sky is a light wash of a blue mixed with white. For the trees I used green earth and Payne’s grey, with a small amount of raw umber in the trunks. The grass is a mix of light yellow ochre, brown ochre, and buff titanium, with some raw umber in the dark parts. The cattle are a mix of Payne’s grey and raw umber. I’ve never been a fan of Payne’s grey, but I’m experimenting with it. The buff titanium I’ve had for a couple of years but I think this might be the first time I’ve used it in a painting. It helped get the color of dried grass. All of the grass in this area is very dry and we’ve had a lot of large wildfires recently.

Here’s the two reference photos I used, taken on different days at different times of day.

Field with Cattle ref 1

Field with Cattle ref 2

Leave a Reply

