Philip Melanchthon, after Hans Holbein the Younger

Philip Melanchthon, after Hans Holbein the Younger

Oil on canvas panel, 5″ x 7″

This is Philip Melanchthon, a German reformer during the Protestant Reformation who co-labored along side Martin Luther. Luther was an outgoing preacher while Melanchthon was more of a gentle theologian. Among many other things, they preached justification through faith and salvation only through Christ by grace. Original painting here.

I’ve started practicing portraits and trying to work especially on flesh tones, which I’ve never been good at. The flesh colors here are transparent gold ochre, transparent red oxide, green earth, some tubed grey, and lots of zinc white and unbleached titanium white. I think the shading came out pretty well, but I didn’t get the subtle shifts of hue like in the original. The rest of the painting has some of those same paints plus raw umber, ivory black, ultramarine blue, and titanium white.

Also I’m trying to improve the resolution images are displayed here. If it worked right, people with high resolution screens have a clearer image without causing problems for other people. Let me know if it worked.

Lastly, it’s currently the first day of 2016 for me. I don’t normally do resolutions, but I made a few, and one of them is to be more frugal this year. With just a few exceptions I’ll try not to buy any new art supplies this entire year and instead make proper use of what I have on hand.

4 thoughts on “Philip Melanchthon, after Hans Holbein the Younger

  1. I like it too. And you are right – the skin needs a little more life – but else, GREAT work! Happy new Year!

  2. Nicely done! Real character there. A touch of cadmium red light could help the flesh tones. (My own “formula” begins with titanium white, cad red, and yellow ochre, shadows in cooler tones with the addition of cobalt blue and/or violet.)

Leave a Reply

