Cool Shade of Dusk

Evening Hillside with Cloud
Oil on canvas, 7″ x 5″

Painted from another photo that I took from a train in the mountains last winter. This is looking back west over the hills at evening and not far from my destination, a little farther east. As usual, I tended too cool in hue and didn’t get the slight warmth in the cloud. There’s a few odd ridges in the paint because this was painted over an old painting.

This is the second painting I’m posting in one day for me, and I’m wondering if it would be better to not post quickly made paintings so often? It’s just that I’m pretty well pleased with the recent study paintings and excited to regain the motivation to make things so often again.

14 thoughts on “Cool Shade of Dusk

  1. Beautiful! You captured the setting sun. I wouldn’t worry about posting too many times. I post whenever I have a painting to post. If I have two to post, I might do the second one the next day.

    1. Thanks πŸ™‚
      I thought about posting the next day (yesterday) but planned yet another painting for that day. It didn’t get finished though and I’m about to post it now if I can think of a title.

      1. πŸ™‚
        I usually post a painting after it’s dry and photograph. For me it’s like keeping a log of the paintings. Some people like to post weekly. You have to do what works for you.

    1. Thanks πŸ™‚
      I didn’t get all the little details in the clouds that were in the photo, effectively over exposing it in the painting, but yeah the balance seems to have worked out.

    1. I think I feel that way too, since I’ve passed this place around this time of day so many times, and there’s always the anticipation of being close to the destination that I know is just little while ahead. πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks πŸ™‚
      I was a little concerned with getting enough detail on the trees since they’re so small and the tops of most of the them were painted on top of wet white paint, but that white seems to have helped by partly mixing with the dark paint.

  2. Certainly has that feeling of Winter…I like it! And, all those other bits add to the texture…nice. I’m glad you’re feeling motivated again!

Leave a Reply

