Swimming Penguin

Cute Swimming Penguin
Watercolor on 300 lb watercolor paper, 3.75″ round

Here’s another animal painting from a photo I took at the zoo. The water was obviously the hard part, especially since I don’t normally ever paint water like that. Also look, it snowed last night.

This’ll be the last entry for this week’s theme, the five color palette I posted on Instagram here. I was going to try finishing another landscape painting this week… but it is my Everest. There’s this one photo I keep trying to paint in watercolor for the past couple of months, and watercolor is probably not the best choice for it. Anyone that can paint that in watercolor can probably paint anything. Also I’m sick, so progress has been slowed a little.

Amazon affiliates links:
The palette is linked above.
Da Vinci Harbin kolinsky sable round #6
The paper is an old scrap of Fabriano 300 lb soft press.

Next week will have a different theme. I have some ideas, but if anyone has suggestions let me know.

3 thoughts on “Swimming Penguin

  1. Take it easy. Must be fit for the holiday season! 🎄🎈 This is a darling penguini and the water looks fine. Suggest you just paint what you want to. We’re not crackin’ any whips! 🙋🌟

Leave a Reply

