Jacob Blesses Joseph’s Sons (copy)

Jacob Blesses Joseph's Sons

Pencil and marker on paper, 6″ x 4″

This is a copy of a scene painted by Rembrandt, seen here. I drew this in pencil and then colored the background with some copic markers.

The scene here is from Genesis chapter 48. Jacob, on the left, was very old when this happened, and before dying he blessed all of his sons and also the two sons of his son Joseph. By inspiration Jacob knew to give Ephraim, the younger of the two grandsons, the greater blessing, seeing that his descendants would become greater than those of his older brother Manasseh.

As he blessed Joseph and his two sons he recalled all of the care with which God had guided him through his life, saying “God, before whom my fathers Abraham and Isaac did walk, the God which fed me all my life long unto this day, the Angel which redeemed me from all evil, bless the lads; and let my name be named on them, and the name of my fathers Abraham and Isaac; and let them grow into a multitude in the midst of the earth.” (Genesis 48:15, 16)

Leave a comment