Bee on a Flower

Bee on a Flower

Watercolor on 140 lb cold pressed paper, 10.75” x 7.5”

This is mostly cobalt violet light, manganese blue hue, Payne’s grey, Daniel Smith’s lunar earth, a little raw sienna, and a lot of a terre verte that has viridian mixed into it.

Before starting this I was reading in the book of Ephesians where Paul was explaining the preaching of the gospel to the Gentiles. He said “Whereof I was made a minister, according to the gift of the grace of God given unto me by the effectual working of His power. Unto me, who am less than the least of all saints, is this grace given, that I should preach among the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ;” (Eph 3:7-8)

I especially noticed the part where Paul, in humility from the awareness of his own sins in contrast with his knowledge of the holiness of God, called himself “less than the least of all saints.” Yet he was a recipient of grace, which can never be earned or deserved (because then it could not be called grace), and it was received through “the effectual working” of the power of God.

As I read that a thought came to me that I wanted to share, so I made this painting to have an opportunity. What I want to say is that if you have accepted Jesus as your savior then say with confidence “I, too, will gain the victory through Christ.” This victory comes through beholding Him and submitting your will to Him, and all who do may gain the victory as Paul did.

Reference photo-

Bee on a Flower ref

Many of the photos of bees on flowers I didn’t post because they weren’t focused right or, like this one, not framed the way I wanted because slight movements of the wind kept moving everything.

2 thoughts on “Bee on a Flower

Leave a Reply

