Cows in a Snowy Field

Winter Plains with Cows
Watercolor and gouache on paper, 6″ x 8.25″

Here’s another painting of one of my old photos, taken out a train window in the high country of Colorado during winter.

I’ve added a gallery section to the right that displays on each page and shows some of my past artworks in random order. Does it look good and work well? Is there anything in it that isn’t good enough and just clutters it?

I tried putting all of the finished waterfall book pages in that section and I liked it but I was actually planning on making that its own page and gallery once it’s finished. Another idea was to sometimes upload new sketches there that shouldn’t have a post just to themselves but can still be shown as part of a gallery. I’ll try out a few things, but if you guys have any feedback on it that might help.

6 thoughts on “Cows in a Snowy Field

    1. I’m glad to hear that. Lots of great photos can be gotten that way, and even if they aren’t perfect you can just ignore that while painting. For this one I actually added one cow for composition. πŸ™‚

  1. I like the gallery…it doesn’t show in the reader though. So if you hadn’t mentioned it, I wouldn’t have known to click to the actual blog.
    We did separate pages that you click at the top for a couple of our series, but it was so long ago, I forget even how we did it. And I don’t think many people ever find them and look. So the thumbnails on the side seem good. (K)

    1. I hadn’t considered the reader, but that’ll mean non-post gallery updates won’t be seen and probably shouldn’t be bothered with. That’s still okay, because the gallery bar is mainly for people who come here from Google searches going to some 2 or 3 year old posts comparing paint brands, but that might not continue to the rest of the site to see what I’m currently making. πŸ™‚

  2. Hi I’m viewing this on an iPad, just so you know the gallery appears underneath the blog posts. It’s looking good, I agree that the waterfall book should perhaps have its own gallery or project portfolio if your WordPress theme supports those.

    1. I recently looked into portfolios, and on a secret private test blog I tried making a portfolio but something wasn’t working and I got distracted with other things. Apparently all themes support them but only a few are specifically built for them. That’s probably what I should work figuring out on for the book. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

